Our Productions


  • Mon, 24 Sep 2018 to Sat, 29 Sep 2018
  •  
  • Carnival Plays - Playwriting Competition Performances

    Public Performance

    Thu, 27 Sep 2018: 7:30pm View details
    Fri, 28 Sep 2018: 7:30pm View details
    Sat, 29 Sep 2018: 7:30pm View details

    Group Night Performance

    Mon, 24 Sep 2018: 7:30pm View details
    Tue, 25 Sep 2018: 7:30pm View details
    Wed, 26 Sep 2018: 7:30pm View details
    Carnival Plays - Playwriting Competition Performances

    The first and second positions will be announced on the final presentation night.
    Prizes: The author of the best play will receive a cash prize of $4000,
    and the second best play will receive $2000,
    thanks to the sponsorship by Excavation Equipment Pty Ltd. 
     
    The top two plays will be performed each night are (in no particular order):
     
    Inconceivable – a drama by Queensland playwright Hugh O’Brien
    Synopsis: 
    Investigative Journalist for the online newspaper QNEWS, Caitlin Cole, discovers that the birth rate in a low socio-economic community in south-east Queensland has mysteriously plummeted over the last three years. Teenage pregnancies at the local high school have gone from 14 to zero while there have been precious few planned pregnancies.  At first the cause is thought to be a fungicide used by nearby grape growers. But as Caitlin overcomes the scepticism of her editor and digs deeper, she uncovers a far more sinister reason for the low birth rate.
     
    Seamless – a drama/comedy by Queensland playwright Bruce Clark

    Synopsis: 
    John “Johnno” McCormick lives alone on his family property “Silver Springs” on the Darling Downs in Queensland.  He has been a career farmer, and while the farm is now in decline, he keeps making an effort for his own sake.  His wife has passed away some years previously.  He has had to shoot the last property dog.  His only child, a son, has been away studying at university since just before his mother’s death and keeps the place at arm’s length due to dealing with that tragedy.  The GasUp Power Company has been anxious to sign up locals for coal seam gas rights.  Johnno is philosophically opposed, but sees a possibility to keep his land, and has signed up.  When his son James, now a newly graduated lawyer, returns to visit with his girlfriend Ingrid, he is appalled that his father has done this, but can’t put up too much of a protest, as he has only returned to say goodbye, needing to announce plans for his and Ingrid’s future, plans that don’t include the farm

     

    Full details


  • Sat, 17 Nov 2018 to Sat, 1 Dec 2018
  •  
  • Glorious by Peter Quilter

    Public Performance

    Sat, 24 Nov 2018: 7:30pm View details
    Fri, 30 Nov 2018: 7:30pm View details
    Sat, 1 Dec 2018: 7:30pm View details

    Group Night Performance

    Sat, 17 Nov 2018: 7:30pm, for CULTURAL HERITAGE NETWORK-TOOWOOMBA REGION 0428220373 View details
    Mon, 19 Nov 2018: 7:30pm, for BUNYA PARK SCOUT GROUP 46388415 View details
    Tue, 20 Nov 2018: 7:30pm, for ST STEPHENS 46351580 View details
    Wed, 21 Nov 2018: 7:30pm, for WOMEN IN HARMONY 46969032 0407255271 View details
    Thu, 22 Nov 2018: 7:30pm, for KANYANA DISTRICT GIRL GUIDES 46307919 0413609100 View details
    Fri, 23 Nov 2018: 7:30pm, for TMBA SUPA OLDIES FOOTBALL CLUB 46346560 View details
    Mon, 26 Nov 2018: 7:30pm, for BASE PASTORAL CARE 46166415 View details
    Tue, 27 Nov 2018: 7:30pm, for AHSLAR LODGE 0438539381 View details
    Wed, 28 Nov 2018: 7:30pm, for ROTARY GARDEN CITY 46370369 H 46340102W 0412929098 View details
    Thu, 29 Nov 2018: 7:30pm, for DARLING DOWNS CHRYSALIS 0488095919 View details
    Glorious by Peter Quilter 
    Director Mark Phythian

    Full details